Casto Street Fair and Dinner at Home

A few weeks ago, I went to the Castro Street Fair. Castro in San Francisco
is a very gay part of town, and apparently every year they put on a little
festival. They had lots of food there and some arts and crafts. Good times.
Josh got some fried vegetable thing, and Erin and Alex got some rib
sandwich. I had just eaten leftovers from Japantown, so I didn't get
anything. Although I rather wanted to try those beer battered fries.

For dinner we came back to my aunty's house and cooked dinner. Using her
vine-rippened tomatoes, we made a pasta. It was a simple sauce of two types
of tomatoes, fresh garlic, fresh basil, red onion, olive oil and salt.
Looking back on it, it would have been a bit nice to add a splash of
vermouth or wine. But still very delicious. Ate it with some sparkling water
and a salad of lettuce from the Menlo Park Farmer's Market and a simple
balsamic vinaigrette.

For my aunty Paula, we whipped up a whiskey sour, one of my favorite drinks.
It consists of whiskey (for some reason I like Jim Beam bourbon), fresh
lemon juice, simple syrup, and a touch of egg white. She said it came out
alright!

Thanks to Aunty Paula for letting us cook at her house and use her
ingredients!