Goma Tei in Honolulu

 

I had to post these pictures from Goma Tei, a ramen bar in Ward Center in Honolulu. It's one of my favorite shopping pit stops. When you realize it's past noon and you've already missed lunch, it's the perfect place to take a break (the nearby Kaka'ako Kitchen is alluring--but I think it's expensive and the food is never as satisfying as I hope. If you order anything there, though, definitely get the bread pudding and don't pass on the hot vanilla sauce!). I ordered the signature Tan Tan noodles, in rich, spicy sesame soup base.

 

Sometimes you have to wait a bit because, as you can see in the first photo, the restaurant is quite popular. But waiting isn't so bad. You just put your name on the clipboard outside. As with most ramen shops, traffic moves pretty quickly and you'll be seated in no time. In fact, last time, my friend Phil and I wandered over to Borders to wait and missed our call. Whoops!


Goma Tei Ramen Restaurant

Ward Centre
Mon - Sat 11am-9:30pm
Sun 11:30am-9:30pm

591-9188